Wilkins Wins Mile Run at DePauw Small College Invite

Wilkins Wins Mile Run at DePauw Small College Invite



GREENCASTLE, Indiana – Sophomore Rachel Wilkins won the Mile Run highlighting the Earlham College track and field team's performance at the DePauw University Small College Invitational on Friday evening.

Wilkins earned the squad ten points with her 5:32.53 mile, beating second place Haley Thompson of DePauw by over four seconds. The Oakland City, Indiana native also place sixth in the 400-Meter Dash with a time of 1:06.29 as well as being a member of the Quakers' 4-x-400-Meter Relay team (freshman Vi Tran, freshman Jemayla Nelsonwood, junior Annalee Wilson, and Wilkins) that finished fourth with a time of 4:52.32.

Wilson finished third in the Pole Vault with a jump of 9' 0 ¾". Emily Clancy of Hanover won the event with a vault of 10' 6".

Other women's performances that gave the team points were freshman Camille van der Vaart's 26' 4 ½" heave in the Shotput and freshman Sari Stissi's fifth-place performance in the 60-Meter Dash.

On the men's side, senior Gabriel Penk notched a personal record by 13 seconds with a second-place finish in the 3,000-Meter Run. The Portland, Oregon native finished with a time of 8:57.91, just three seconds slower than with winner Paul Christian from DePauw.

Senior Akul Sharma finished sixth in the 60-Meter Dash with a time of 7.66 seconds, earning Earlham two points.

The male Quakers also picked up points in all three relays. Sharma, sophomore LeAundre' Knight, senior Xavier Flores, and junior Marcaus Cooper placed fourth in the 4-x200-Meter Relay with a time of 1:42.34. Knight and Cooper also teamed up with freshmen Matthew Lemons and Oliver Daniel for a fifth-place finish in the 4-x-400-Meter Relay.

Earlham's Distance Medley Relay team of Daniel, junior Sirajus Salekin, freshman Riley Green, and sophomore Jacob Kempinski finished with a time of 12:17.22.

The Quakers return to the track next Friday at the Defiance College Open. 

Franklin Serves on NCAA Panel
February 17, 2017 Franklin Serves on NCAA Panel